David E. Griffith

Executive Director

David E. Griffith joined ECS as executive director in May 2013. He is the first non-clergy, non-MSW to head the organization in its 145+ year history.

He is an advocate for individuals and families in poverty and strongly believes that the call to service, along with the call for inclusion, diversity, and the equal access to opportunity is core to the Episcopal faith tradition.

David is also chairman of Modern Group Ltd., an employee-owned industrial holding company, chairman of Delaware Valley Floral Group, director and governance chair of the J. J. Haines Company, manager of Mountain Laurel Spirits LLC., chair of Verus Advisory Board, and serves as a member of the IBM Midmarket Advisory Council. His nonprofit involvements are as vice chairman of the World Affairs Council of Philadelphia, trustee and governance chair of the Academy of Natural Sciences, chairman of the McEwen Family Scholarship Trusts, and director of the Griffith Family Foundation. He is a frequent lecturer at the University of Pennsylvania’s Nonprofit Leadership Program, the Fox School of Business, and Rutgers School of Engineering.

He is a former trustee of The Westminster School, The Pennsylvania Biotechnology Center, Senior Warden of Trinity Episcopal Church, past president of the Material Handling Equipment Dealers Association (MHEDA), and a past director of the National Association of Wholesalers Institute for Distribution Excellence (NAWIDE).

Prior to joining ECS, David was a senior executive with more than 37 years with Modern Group Ltd., MCI, ROLM, and IBM, collectively.

A lifelong Episcopalian, David and his family are members of Trinity, Solebury.

Lindsay Albright, MSW, LSW
Victoria Bennett
Mark A. Davis
Caroline Dunleavy, MA, MAR
Pamela D. Egleston, MSW, LSW
Jill Quiles
Cynthia L. Teagle Gale
Christian Holland, MDiv
Victoria Sicks
Arley Styer, MSS, MLSP

Cordelia F. Biddle | Drexel University and Author

Kurt W. Brunner | The Swarthmore Group

The Rev. Mariclair Partee Carlsen | St. Mary’s, Hamilton Village

John G. Chou, Esq. | AmerisourceBergen Corporation

The Rev. John D. Daniels | The School at Church Farm

Matthew J. Espe | Formerly, Armstrong World Industries, Inc.

Earl M. Forte III, Esq. | Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC

Mary B. Geisz, Ph.D | Writer/Editor, Health and Health Care

The Rev. Philip Geliebter | St. Mark's Church, Frankford

David E. Griffith | Executive Director, Episcopal Community Services

Richard Henriques | The Center for High Impact Philanthropy, University of Pennsylvania

Catherine R. Higgins, Ph.D | Retired, Social Work

Barbara C. Kozemchak | Formerly, ECS Home Care

Bill Marino | Sybaris Capital

The Rev. John E. Midwood | Retired Executive Director of Episcopal Community Services

Cynthia R. Muse | Formerly, School District of Philadelphia

John Randolph | Formerly, Schuylkill River Development Corporation

Holly K. Srogota, Esq. | The Law Offices of Monique T. Moran

The Rev. Richard Vinson | Trinity Church, Solebury